WHY AND HOW I TURNED VEGAN – A Veganuary Food For Thought !

This blogpost is an attempt to spread vegan consciousnes through some “vegan” food for thoughts in this very Veganuary Special month.
Mine wordful vibes would take you to the inception, process and the journey of why and how did Mine Veganing Journey Begin !

By

BANANI DAS CHOWDHURY

31/01/2023

I chosed being vegetarian but veganism had chosen me !

There is a story in me, a story of how mine conscience led to reach mine consciousness, the story of why I turned vegan and how I choosed to become a vegetarian but then how veganism choosed me !

It’s for the love!

Take my words which are the ink from mine spirit to narrate unto you mine veganing phase how actually began and I hope mine vibes could touch the core of your heart to let you feel that love I am referring to here!

Well, it actually started from the voice of mine conscience which started to yell at me in 2011, I felt like I should turn vegetarian.

Why I felt as this , well it’s for an incident that I witnessed rather an incident that made me feel the pulse of mine lying conscience back then.

I struggled for seven years since before I turned to turn vegetarian then and ultimately to turn into a vegan.

It took a lot of battles between the guilt vz the taste I felt inside out to arrive at this point.
And then there are those voices who/which catalyzed it up for me to finally take this plunge!

The story started in one part of 2011, I used to love eating chicken earlier, the main course of mine consciousness was still lying unconscious back then about how it feels the other side!

It wasn’t the first time I visited a meat shop but that day it just hit mine consciousness.

I went there with my mother, my father was out of station, it’s him who used to go to market usually. But then that was unlike any other day but it wasn’t like that the first time though.

But then that day was the inception and I struggled with that one voice since that day to make peace with for almost seven years till I turned vegetarian in 2017’s end.

The story goes as when I went to the market with my mother and near the meat shop, the chicken flesh we paid for to purchase, I heard that innocent soul’s cries straight unto mine heart and I felt like something was happening within me, I started feeling the pain, as like hearing someone pleading for mercy, it took heavy on me.

Since that day the battle begin between mine conscience and choice, guilt vz taste and I struggled to choose mine transforming consciousness back then. It went on for almost seven years.

During this time, I used to tell my own ones especially my mother that one day I would leave it all and become a vegetarian. I wasn’t a hard-core non vegetarian though, born and brought up in Bengali culture and in Assam’s scenic ambience (my native country- India).

I wasn’t too much into different culnaries, fish or other kind of meat products. But yet it became hard on my part to turn vegetarian for chicken and eggs were the reasons to turn mine appetite on back those days, the little did I know the stories of pain behind this and that knock to know and feel this pain begin with that one voice !

This is the first voice, the voice of mine conscience where from this level of consciousness started to mould inside mine being.

Apart from this prime voice, two voices in mine life catalyzed the process and also became a guiding force to accelerate mine being to reach this level of consciousness!

It was April 2018, I turned fully VEGAN in terms of my food choices and gradually to other choices that comes in our day to day life, from clothing to skin care and the likewise which I am researching more on to keep making the conscious choice of mine conscience.

But I didn’t think to turn vegan initially
Nor I had any ideas back then what vegans actually are!
And I didn’t research as well.

A voice from someone reached out !

Yet I wasn’t ready to listen as hadn’t researched on yet for I thought in our land might be the “dairy” industry might not be in that gruesome state like the West as here mostly cattles are held in highest regards (that was the perceived notion).

But then one fine day
I felt another voice from as my master within, call it conscience but I took the word as my spirit’s prompt , a higher command and that very day (a day in April 2018) I decided to turn vegan, all at a sudden without looking back to what else I had to cut down in mine diet for living through that course.

Though after that too I was still in a dilemma thinking that does it happen atleast here at my land but then something came infront of mine vision.

Soon after deciding to turn VEGAN a video come across mine glance, a little calf how cruelly was deprived of having its own mother cow’s milk and that time mine heart cried and it felt straight into the heart !

I realized that voice was appealing the real scenario and the voice within mine, my master’s voice also guided me for the same rightful stand to take for it might be for this is my higher calling.

And I am grateful to the conscience in me that woke up i. 2011 and all the little to significant voices and instances that tried to connect mine conscience to reach that level of consciousness.

And I thank two of those voices for catalyzing this journey of turning me into a vegetarian and eventually turn me into a VEGAN.

And I feel grateful that this consciousness has opened a path to try to represent their voice those who don’t have their own voices to tell their own stories!


And this has been a significant step in mine soul journey so far as well to win over mine taste buds and choose empathy as mine soul food.

I am still a foodie but mine food choices would just cost me some calories and that I can make peace with for mine heart feels at peace that this is one of the way by how I am standing for mine friends, my fauna friends.

A lot of things changed since then I turned Vegan. I became more mindful, conscious, aware, more precise to know about what the body needs to meet nutrition in a plant based ways- still researching and there are way more humane ways to support life on earth without exploitating other life forms!

And then there are the perspectives.

Some people supported, a few mocked, some more got curious and then some found it fascinating too, most of them respected the choices and everything in between but this journey would continue till I am here to speak for them, their rights as innocent souls to live free.

And in this process, it’s no forcing but just about voicing out from the voices that might be asleep, half-awaken or awaken as well within you.

Well yet I can’t change everyone’s perspectives, everyone has their own journey to reach to their part of consciousness and it’s what makes one human, to go and grow through in life, perspectives, choices and experiences and the likewise!

And in part of mine consciousness, well I would share mine voice for the voiceless , these innocent souls who has every right to live as us.

This in gist that why I turned vegan and how my veganing journey begin!

Well at the core

I chosed being vegetarian but Veganism had chosen me!

And since then with all mine heart

I am VEGAN for the love

that every soul deserves on earth and beyond!

By bananidaschowdhury

Writing is my healer, motivator and a true friend for all Seasons and Every Reasons.

Leave a comment